Overwrite

I use computers extensively pretty much every day, but I’m not a touch-typist, so I generally look at the keyboard while I’m typing rather than the screen.

At least once each day, I accidentally hit the “Insert/Overwrite” toggle key on my keyboard and start inadvertently overwriting text instead of inserting.

Really, what’s the point of this ridiculous anachronism, “overwrite” mode? Has anyone actually used it intentionally since Wordperfect 5.1 for DOS went out of common usage? I wish there was a way to disable it at least, so I wouldn’t keep erasing stuff accidentally.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.